12/06/2014 - 23:00
“Disputed territories” under Kurdish control

The Peshmerga Ministry of Federal Kurdistan has announced that all Kurdish regions outside of Federal Kurdistan, including the city of Kirkuk, is under Kurdish control, and that they will not leave these regions ever again.

After ISIS was able to gain control of Mosul, Salahaddin and Kirkuk without any resistance from the Iraqi army, the Kurdish Peshmerga have regained control of Kirkuk. Oil rich Kirkuk was regained by the Peshmerga after clashes with ISIS.

A bomb exploded near the convoy of Peshmerga Minister Ceifer Seyh Mustafa in the South of Kirkuk yesterday afternoon. The Minister escaped without injury, however, one peshmerga lost his life in the attack. The attack was carried out while the Minister was visiting the city to inspect the Peshmergas.

Cabbar Yaver, a peshmerga spokesman, had made a statement earlier in the day stating that "the whole of Kirkuk is under Peshmerga control. As of now, there are no Iraqi soldiers in Kirkuk."

Later the same day, Yaver made a second statement to Rudaw TV in which he said that the Peshmergas had gained control of all the Kurdish regions previously deemed "disputed territories".

Another spokesman from the Peshmerga Ministry Helgurd Hikmet said "All Kurdish regions that are currently outside of the borders of Federal Kurdistan are under our control and we have no plan to leave these regions. We will put up the flag of Kurdistan in these regions."

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the position of KurdishQuestion.com